Paradigm shift

I had an amazing week preparing for last Sunday’s lesson. I was focusing on Matthew 4:17 and the core of Jesus’ message. To be honest, I went into my preparation expecting to teach about love. I can’t even remember how many times I’ve read that Jesus preached on love more than any other topic. It may be true that the word ‘love’ appears in Jesus’ quoted teachings more than any other topic in the Gospels. But, as I learned, love was not at the very heart of Jesus’ teachings.

Matthew 4:17 says – “From then on Jesus began to preach, ‘Repent of your sins and turn to God, for the Kingdom of Heaven is near.'” This verse seems to indicate that Jesus’ main message was that we should repent. All of his teachings about love, sin, money, grace, hell, etc., come in the context of repentance.

It was a paradigm shift for me. Plus, it totally threw off my plans for this month’s message series. Thanks, God…

Peace.

Leave a Reply

