‘Idol’ Recap

Disco week. Yuck. Nobody really likes disco, I think. There are some great disco tunes from the 70’s, but not many. Here’s the rundown.

3 – Up

Kris – This guy just gets better and better each week.  The jazz club/singer-songwriter spin on ‘She Works Hard for the Money’ tonight was great. Despite Paula’s weird comments about Kris ‘shopping in the women’s department’, it was a very enjoyable segment on tonight’s show. The judges keep saying that they’re looking for originality and artistry, and for my money, it’s pretty much down to him and Adam for the title this year.

Nostalgia – It was a great night for music reminiscent of some of the video games I grew up playing. I’m talking, of course, about Anoop Desai’s arrangement of ‘Dim All the Lights’. It reminded me of the ending sequence to Mega Man X. Also, mad props to Anoop for proudly sporting what I like to refer to as the ‘9th grade mustache’. Between that and the polyphonic midi arrangement of his song, I was pleasantly reminded of my middle school days (’96-’98, for those of you interested).

The Show’s Pace – They really moved things along this week. It almost felt rushed – and I loved it! I can’t even remember how many articles I’ve read over the years bemoaning the amazing amounts of filler in American Idol broadcasts. It seems like the show’s producers finally noticed. Much appreciated, AI!

3 – Down

Danny – I’m tired of Danny. The judges just can’t seem to get enough of him, and I don’t get it. I’m tired of the glasses, tired of the weird faces when he sings, tired of him flailing around on stage, tired of the cheese. His voice is great, I’ll give him that. But that’s all I’ll give him.

Allison – There literally wasn’t anything that I liked about her performance tonight. The arrangement was bad. The vocal was bad. Her outfit was beyond bad. She’s just trying too hard. I mean, come on… Glitter makeup?!

Matt – Stayin’ Alive? Not after tonight’s performance. It looked like he walked into a costume shop and said, “I want to be Justin Timberlake for Halloween.” Tonight was just one too many drawn-out falsetto endings for Matt. Too predictable. Too pitchy. Too many weird facial expressions. Too… not… good. The judges liked it (except for Simon). They are crazy (except for Simon).

As I’ve said over the last couple of weeks, the contestants who have some genuine artistry in them are setting themselves apart more and more each week. Tonight featured boring and predictable arrangements (L’il, Danny, Matt) contrasted with unique and original arrangements (Kris, Adam) and weird arrangements (Allison, Anoop). Unless something very unexpected happens in the next few weeks, I predict we’ll be seeing Adam and Danny in the final. If you were paying attention, you’ll remember that I don’t like Danny. I don’t. But I think enough people love him that he’ll end up in the final with Adam. It’s a shame, really, because Kris really deserves to be in the final. Let’s see who gets eliminated tomorrow!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

