What I’m About

You can find all this information on the ‘About’ page here, but I thought it would be appropriate to use my first post on this blog to just lay out what I and this blog are all about. Here are the basics…

  • This blog is for thoughts and ideas, commentary and conversation about life, faith, Jesus, culture, politics, and just about anything else that is on my heart and mind. I welcome comments. No one likes a one-sided conversation.
  • You need to understand right up front that I’m not perfect. I’m a youth pastor, but I still make mistakes. I feel like God has gifted me with wisdom, but I’m still young. I know a lot about the Bible and what it says, but not everything. I have a good understanding of right and wrong, Christian doctrine, what I believe, and what I think everyone should believe, but I’m always open to meaningful dialogue. Hence the fact that I welcome comments.
  • Relationships are the most important thing in the world. Your relationship with Jesus. Relationships between spouses. Friendships. Mentor/Mentored relationships. Family. God is all about relationships. So much so, in fact, that He himself lives in the relationship of the Trinity. If it’s important enough to God to live in relationship, it should be for us.
  • Stories are also incredibly important. You can teach truth all day long in a pedantic sort of way, and maybe some people will find a couple of points to latch on to. But put that same truth into a story, and it will stick with people for the rest of their lives.
  • I hate ‘The Bubble’. I know that hate is a strong word, but I mean it. ‘The Bubble’ is where a lot of Christians live a lot of the time. It’s where we only listen to Christian music, only read Christian books, only wear Christian t-shirts (there will be a blog later on Christian t-shirts). The worst of it is when we find ourselves only hanging out with and spending time with other Christians. How are we supposed to fulfill the Great Commission if we have little or no meaningful interaction with people outside ‘The Bubble’?
  • I will try as hard as I can not to be terse and forceful when it is not appropriate. But, honestly, that’s part of our problem in ‘The Bubble’ – we frequently don’t say what needs to be said because we’re afraid of hurting someone’s feelings. It just wouldn’t be ‘Christian’. Jesus didn’t seem to care too much. He spoke truth even when it hurt the people he was speaking to. I will do my best to be positive and uplifting, but if you know me (and as you get to know me through this blog) you know that that’s not always me.

So there it is. Welcome to Images and Words. Let’s get swept away into God’s great story together.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

